Advertisements   
   

Open Source Software Superstream Series Java

Advertisements   
   

July 29, 2021

4 – 7:30 p.m. Coordinated Universal Time

This event has ended.

Advertisements   
   

View video recording – Open Source Software Superstream Series: Java

Java’s been around for over a quarter of a century now, but it remains dominant in the world of programming due to its portability, speed, and security. Yet with today’s increased reliance on cloud computing and distributed systems, the language must keep changing to keep pace.

In this Superstream event, Java architects, Java Champions, and other experts offer perspectives on topics ranging from features in the new long-term support release to functional programming, giving insight into how Java is keeping up with the cloud and beyond.

About the Open Source Software Superstream Series: Each day in the four-part OSCON Superstream Series covers a different programming language and its ecosystem, with unique sessions including keynotes from language luminaries, debates on controversial topics, and hands-on coding talks. And they’re packed with insights from innovators and the latest tools and technologies to help you stay ahead of it all.

What you’ll learn and how you can apply it

  • Learn how new features in Java 17 will change how you approach your Java code
  • Discover ways to use your IDE to learn new features
  • Understand how optimization works—and how to avoid some of its pitfalls
  • Find out how to work with looping using a more functional approach

This live event is for you because…

  • You’re a Java developer who needs to know more about new features and how to optimize your Java code for new open source technologies.
  • You’re a software developer interested in learning more about Java as a language and learning a more functional approach.
  • You’re a cloud architect who needs to better understand how to optimize Java for the cloud.

Prerequisites

Schedule

The timeframes are only estimates and may vary according to how the class is progressing.

Kelsey Hightower: Introduction (5 minutes) – 9:00am PT | 12:00pm ET | 4:00pm UTC/GMT

  • Kelsey Hightower welcomes you to the Open Source Software Superstream.

Ixchel Ruiz: State of Java (15 minutes) – 9:05am PT | 12:05pm ET | 4:05pm UTC/GMT

  • The JVM is one of the most powerful platforms ever created. When it first came out, its simplicity drew developers toward it. And as time passed, the growing Java ecosystem captivated us. Today, more than 25 years later, Java continues to be relevant and vibrant, with a fast and predictable release cadence introducing new features. The JVM has a strong and thriving community full of passionate people who are always contributing back, sharing their knowledge, and pushing the technology forward. Join Java Champion Ixchel Ruiz to learn how you can get involved and contribute to this great platform.
  • Ixchel Ruiz is a senior software developer at Karakun. She’s developed software applications and tools since 2000. Her research interests include Java, dynamic languages, client-side technologies, DevOps, and testing. A Java Champion, Oracle Groundbreaker Ambassador, SuperFrog, Hackergarten enthusiast, open source advocate, public speaker, and mentor, Ixchel travels around the world (sometimes virtually) sharing knowledge—it’s one of her main drives in life.

Brian Goetz, Stuart Marks, and Nicolai Parlog: Ask the Java Architects—Java 17 and Beyond (45 minutes) – 9:20am PT | 12:20pm ET | 4:20pm UTC/GMT

  • Do you have a question about why Java is the way it is, or where it’s going? Want to know what to expect in the upcoming long-term support release of Java 17? Bring your burning questions about the Java platform and the Java Development Kit past, present, or future to this Q&A session with key members of Oracle’s Java team Brian Goetz, Stuart Marks, and Nicolai Parlog.
  • Brian Goetz is the Java language architect at Oracle and was the specification lead for JSR 335 (Lambda Expressions for the Java Programming Language). He’s the author of Java Concurrency in Practice and over 75 articles about Java development.
  • Stuart Marks is the JDK core libraries project lead in the Java Platform Group at Oracle. His areas of expertise include collections, lambdas, and streams. As his alter ego Doctor Deprecator, he also works on Java’s deprecation mechanism. Stuart previously worked on JavaFX and Java ME at Sun Microsystems. He holds a master’s degree in computer science and a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Stanford University.
  • Nicolai Parlog (a.k.a. nipafx) is a Java developer advocate at Oracle and organizer of Accento. A Java enthusiast focused on language features and core APIs, he has a passion for learning and sharing—in articles, newsletters, and books; in tweets, videos, and streams; and in demo repos and at conferences. (Find out more on all of that on nipafx.dev.) That aside, he’s best known for his haircut.
  • Break (5 minutes)

Holly Cummins: Trade-Offs, Bad Science, and Polar Bears—The World of Java Optimization (45 minutes) – 10:10am PT | 1:10pm ET | 5:10pm UTC/GMT

  • Why can’t we “just make it go faster”? First we need to work out “Faster for whom?” and “Why?”…and “What even is faster?” Holly Cummins takes you through Java optimization principles before bouncing through the pitfalls. Join in to discover why the exact same techniques that make Quarkus rocket fast used to be a terrible idea, why fast benchmarks make for slow programs, and why despite all that, optimization really matters. Along the way, you’ll also dive into measuring things, bad advice, garbage collection, and climate change.
  • Holly Cummins is an IBM STSM and Java Champion. During her time as a lead developer in the IBM Garage, she led projects to count fish, help a blind athlete run ultramarathons in the desert solo, improve healthcare for the elderly, and change how city parking works. Before that, she worked on DevOps-ing Open Liberty and speeding up JVMs. Holly’s also a regular conference speaker and author.
  • Break (5 minutes)

Trisha Gee: Learning in Public—Learn New Java Features with IntelliJ IDEA (20 minutes) – 11:00am PT | 2:00pm ET | 6:00pm UTC/GMT

  • Getting up to speed on Java’s new features may seem overwhelming, but your IDE can help. IntelliJ IDEA not only provides support for the latest version of Java but can also help you discover and use the language’s new features. Trisha Gee demonstrates how the IDE can help you migrate to the latest and greatest version—knowing that you won’t need to research the new features until you need them.
  • Trisha Gee is a Java Champion, published author, and leader of the Java developer advocacy team at JetBrains. She’s developed Java applications for companies of all sizes in the finance, manufacturing, and nonprofit industries and beyond. Trisha has expertise in Java high-performance systems, dabbles with open source development, and is a leader of the Sevilla Java User Group.
  • This session will be followed by a 15-minute Q&A in a breakout room. Stop by if you have more questions for Trisha.

Venkat Subramaniam: Learning in Public—Give Me a Break: More Functional Looping (20 minutes) – 11:20am PT | 2:20pm ET | 6:20pm UTC/GMT

  • Most of us are very familiar with the imperative style of programming: building code using if-else, for, while, etc. to loop and control the flow of execution. Functional programming doesn’t do away with the need to loop and alter the flow of execution; instead these concepts are transformed into the use of higher-order functions. Using examples in Java, Venkat Subramaniam explores this functional approach, showing how to use targeted functions for looping and flow of control to perform data manipulations.
  • Dr. Venkat Subramaniam is an award-winning author, founder of Agile Developer Inc., and an instructional professor at the University of Houston. He’s trained and mentored thousands of software developers in the US, Canada, Europe, and Asia and is a regularly invited speaker at several international conferences. Venkat helps his clients effectively apply and succeed with sustainable Agile practices on their software projects. He’s the author or coauthor of multiple technical books, including the 2007 Jolt Productivity award-winning Practices of an Agile Developer. You can find a list of his books at agiledeveloper.com.
  • This session will be followed by a 15-minute Q&A in a breakout room. Stop by if you have more questions for Venkat.
  • Break (5 minutes)

Marc R. Hoffmann: Learning in Public—Keeping Pace with Java Safely(20 minutes) – 11:45am PT | 2:45pm ET | 6:45pm UTC/GMT

  • Upgrading to the latest version of Java allows you to take advantage of the newest features—but how do you ensure you’re upgrading without breaking critical systems? What does a pragmatic and sustainable update strategy look like? Java Champion Marc R. Hoffmann shares lessons learned from maintaining production systems for the long run, offering practical advice on how to safely upgrade Java versions in critical production systems.
  • Java Champion Marc R. Hoffmann has been involved in various FOSS and commercial Java projects since the very beginning in 1996. In his spare time, he created the free code coverage tool JaCoCo and continues to keep it up-to-date for the latest Java releases. In his day job, Marc’s the CTO of mtrail GmbH in Berne, Switzerland, where part of his responsibility is the technical lifecycle of mission-critical systems (which includes regular Java updates).
  • This session will be followed by a 15-minute Q&A in a breakout room. Stop by if you have more questions for Marc.

Kelsey Hightower: Closing Remarks (5 minutes) – 12:05pm PT | 3:05pm ET | 7:05pm UTC/GMT

  • Kelsey Hightower closes out today’s event.

Upcoming Open Source Software Superstream events:

  • C++ – October 14, 2021

Your Host

  • Kelsey Hightower has worn every hat possible throughout his career in tech and enjoys leadership roles focused on making things happen and shipping software. Kelsey’s a strong open source advocate focused on building simple tools that make people smile. When he isn’t slinging Go code, you can catch him giving technical workshops covering everything from programming to system administration.

Open Source Software Superstream Series Java, Free Tutorials Download

Download Open Source Software Superstream Series Java Free Tutorials Direct Links

Go to Download Tutorials Page Go to HomePage Tutorials

Password : freetutsdownload.net

Author: Ho Quang Dai

I am Ho Quang Dai, from Vietnam – A country that loves peace. I share completely free courses from major academic websites around the world. Hope to bring free knowledge to everyone who can’t afford to buy


Related Courses

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Report Link Die

Please provide the most detailed information, we will re-upload as soon as possible